Google spreads malware

Google Malware warning for google.co.uk
What more do I need to say, every system will produce false positives ;) but some produce less embarrassing.

Caught on the 27th December when viewing a feedburner feed in Google Reader that appeared in the "Top Recommendations" boxes


Legal bit - yes I know Google hasn't spread the malware, the feedburner feed probably contained an image which in turn was on a domain which was on a shared host using the IP 220.196.59.23 which in turned had some malware on one or more domains on the host but still it was Google that said google.co.uk would harm my computer not me!

Update: My friend David Harry (who has just done one of the most comprehensive Information retrieval posts ever) sent me some more amusing additional slippups including:

  • http://google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=google.com
  • http://google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=news.com.au
  • http://google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=ebay.com

For a few more checkout How to check if a site is serving malware or um not as the case maybe.

Quickly Linking?

If you want to link to this post quickly please use: http://tnash.eu/t237

alternativly use one of these services Tiny URL | bit.ly |is.gd

RSS feed | Trackback URI | Add your comment!

2 Comments »

Comment by Nikola Subscribed to comments via email
2009-01-29 20:24:47
Nikola avatar

This is funny, not because of what you pointed to, but for your defense of a “false positive”. Google didn’t say that google.co.uk would harm your computer. Sentence is very concise. And no, I don’t love google

Comment by Tim Nash Subscribed to comments via email
2009-01-30 02:17:12

Perhaps you should have read the whole article ;) or even just the next paragraph would have done you then your comment wouldn’t be subject to a sarcky response but alas not.

The wording of the google warning has I believe been subject to debate the phrase “contains elements” is according to several arm chair lawyers misleading and while the sentence is as you say concise that doesn’t change the fact google blocked there own site and sent me as a user a warning “visiting this [google.co.uk] may harm your pc” it’s the big heading by the way if your wondering and no I put the bracketed google.co.uk in to remind you which site it had blocked ;)

 
 

Responses to this post:

dont be an idiot, use a real name and all comments are moderated
Name Your name not your website(required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
Website address (URL)
Web site name will be used as link text
Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.
Spam protection: Sum of ten + 4 ?